Yalta Conference: FDR, Churchill and Stalin

National History Day
2022 Guides - Theme: Debate & Diplomacy in History
Research Guide Image
Churchill, FDR and Stalin seated at the Yalta Conference. Source: https://www.nvlchawaii.org/d-day-martial-law-ends-hawaii-yalta-conference

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Yalta Conference
Yalta Agreement
Yalta Conference (1945 : I︠A︡lta, Ukraine)

Books/Print Resources at DPL

Eight days at Yalta : how Churchill, Roosevelt and Stalin shaped the post-war w…
Decisions at Yalta : an appraisal of summit diplomacy

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

World History (Gale)

From the ancient world to today’s headlines. A chronicle of the great cultures and societies that have formed the history of the human race. Rare primary sources, reliable reference and multimedia content put this vast topic into context.

Available with library card

Visit World History (Gale)

Sample Articles
Yalta Agreement: Was the Yalta Agreement the Best the West Could Have Negotiated?
Yalta: Did the Yalta Conference Represent an Anglo-American Capitulation to Soviet Occupation in Eastern Europe?
Sample Articles
Decisions at Yalta pose vital test for America (Primary Source)
Yalta parley ends: the big three meeting again to make plans for the world (Primary Source)
Sample Articles
Yalta: witness to history
The quarrels after Yalta (click on PDF Full Text)

Explora High School (Ebsco)

Look up topic overviews, magazine and academic journal articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind.

Available with library card

Visit Explora High School (Ebsco)

Sample Articles
The Crimean (Yalta) Conference

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

The Yalta Conference
A thought-provoking classroom simulation of the issues discussed at Yalta with differing possible outcomes. Source: the University of Houston's Digital History website
Yalta Conference Agreement, Declaration of a Liberated Europe (Primary Source)
The "Digital Archive International History Declassified" site includes once-secret documents from governments all across the globe. More Yalta documents available at https://digitalarchive.wilsoncenter.org
The Yalta Conference at seventy-five: Lessons from history
An essay from the Atlantic Council, a nonpartisan organization that seeks to motivate US leadership and engagement in the world.
The Yalta Conference - Winning the War, Debating the Peace (Primary Source)
Excellent resource from the Franklin D. Roosevelt Presidential Library and Museum containing summary, documents, images and analysis of the Yalta Conference (click on "Documents" and "Confront the Issue" tabs).

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project