Reviews and Blog Posts: Andrei Sakharov

Freedom Blues

Jafar Panahi and Nasrin Sotoudeh, 2012 Award Winners

Weary of the election? Does a world without oppositional speech sound perfectly dreamy? Don't rush to give away your civil liberties just yet.

The 2012 Sakharov Freedom of Thought Award is a reminder of the human rights our fellow citizens of the world don't enjoy. Awarded by the European Parliament since 1988 and named after the Soviet physicist and political dissident Andrei Sakharov, the Prize honors those who have made an important contribution to the fight for human rights or democracy.

Syndicate content