Sequoyah and the Cherokee Alphabet

National History Day
2021 Guides - Theme: Communication in History
Portrait of Sequoyah holding his Cherokee syllabary. National Portrait Gallery. https://npg.si.edu/object/npg_NPG.79.174

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Sequoyah
Cherokee alphabet
Sequoyah
Cherokee Language -- Alphabet

Books/Print Resources at DPL

Introduction to Cherokee a primer for learning to read, write and speak the Che…
Cherokee-English dictionary (primary resource)

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources.The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History (Gale)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available with library card

Visit U.S. History (Gale)
Sample Articles
Act of Union (Primary Source)
Sequoyah and the Vital Nature of the Written Word
Cherokee Nation receives award for historic preservation
"We're taking the genius of Sequoyah into this century": the Cherokee syllabary, peoplehood, and perseverance
Sample Articles
The Cherokee Syllabary from Script to Print
ᏎᏉᏯ Was Here
The Story of Sequoyah's Syllabary
Cherokee for Beginners: the Long Road Back, Starting on Campus

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Sequoyah and the invention of the Cherokee alphabet
The Cherokee syllabary : writing the people's perseverance
Sequoyah : inventor of written Cherokee

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Cultural Impact of the Cherokee Syllabary
Brief article on the lasting influence of having the Cherokee language in written form, and how Sequoyah spread word of his invention across the West.
Sequoyah Research Center - The Genius of Sequoyah (Primary Source)
Located at the University of Arkansas, Little Rock, the Center's mission is to acquire and preserve writings and ideas of Native Americans. This link is to the transcription of a book by James W. Parins' which includes native peoples' writings and thoughts on Sequoyah's incredible contribution.
Cherokee Language
Cherokee Nation's website includes information about preserving and expanding the Cherokee language in both spoken and written forms.
First Language - The Race to Save Cherokee - video
This documentary (from the North Carolina Language and Life Project) chronicles the efforts of the Eastern Band of Cherokee Indians to preserve and revitalize the endangered Cherokee language.
Sequoyah and the creation of the Cherokee syllabary
National Geographic article summarizing Sequoyah's biography and invention.

Related Research Guides

Denver Public Library and Primary Resources

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project