The Indigenous/Hispanic Frontier in Colorado

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

"Spanish frontier" and Colorado

"Spanish borderlands" and Colorado

"San Luis Valley"

Ute*

"Santa Fe Trail"

"Old Spanish Trail"

Indigenous or "Native American" or "American Indian"

Ute Indians

Indians of North America -- Colorado -- History.

Hispanic Americans -- Colorado -- History.

Hispanic American pioneers -- Colorado -- History.

Colorado -- Discovery and exploration -- Spanish.

Old Spanish Trail -- History.

Books/Print Resources at DPL

Early Hispanic Colorado, 1678-1900 / by Joseph P. Sánchez.

Hispanic pioneers in Colorado and New Mexico.

Escalante's dream : on the trail of the Spanish discovery of the Southwest / Da…

People of the red earth : American Indians of Colorado / Sally Crum.

Utes, the mountain people / Jan Pettit ; introduction by Eddie Box.

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

U.S. History (Gale)

Provides a complete overview of our nation’s past that covers the most-studied events, decades, conflicts, wars, political and cultural movements, and people from reference sources, full-text magazines, academic journals, news articles, primary source documents, images, videos, audio files and links to vetted web sites.

Available with library card

Visit U.S. History (Gale)

Sample Articles

"Ute." In Great Basin, Pacific Northwest, Arctic, 3rd ed., edited by Laurie J. Edwards, 1783-1801. Vol. 5 of UXL Encyclopedia of Native American Tribes. Detroit, MI: UXL, 2012. Gale In Context: U.S. History

Valverde, A. D. (1999). Diary of the Campaign Against Ute and Comanche Indians (1719). In American Journey. The Hispanic-American Experience. Primary Source Media

Pioneer Life: Spanish and Mexican Pioneer Life. (1996). In C. Phillips & A. Axelrod (Eds.), Encyclopedia of the American West. Macmillan Reference USA

History Reference Center (Ebsco)

Search full-text articles, historical documents, biographies, maps and photos. Great for students of history. Classic version. Video tutorial.

App available for iPhone iPhone Android Android Help App Help

Available with library card

Visit History Reference Center (Ebsco)

Sample Articles

Wheelwright, J. (2008) ‘The Secret of San Luis Valley.’, Smithsonian, 39(7), pp. 48–56

Navarro, L. (1994) ‘The “North” Under Spanish Administration: The Internal Provinces.’, Handbook of Hispanic Cultures of the United States: History, pp. 160–183.

Clark, B.J. (2005) ‘Lived ethnicity: archaeology and identity in Mexicano America.’, World Archaeology, 37(3), pp. 440–452.

Gale PowerSearch

Search multiple Gale and Infotrac databases simultaneously. Basic Search Video Tutorial | Advanced Search Video Tutorial

Available with library card

Visit Gale PowerSearch

Sample Articles

McWilliams, C., Meier, M.S. and García, A.M. (2016) 'The Broken Border' in North from Mexico: The Spanish-Speaking People of the United States, 3rd ed., Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger, [57]-70

McWilliams, C., Meier, M.S. and García, A.M. (2016) 'Heart of the Borderlands' in North from Mexico: The Spanish-Speaking People of the United States, 3rd ed., Santa Barbara, CA: Praeger, [41]-55,

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

Across the northern frontier : Spanish explorations in Colorado / Phil Carson.

The Mexican frontier, 1821-1846 : the American Southwest under Mexico / David J…

Juan Rivera's Colorado, 1765 : the first Spaniards among the Ute and Paiute Ind…

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Ute History and the Ute Mountain Tribe