Reviews and Blog Posts: Nobel Prize

Voices from Chernobyl

by Svetlana. 1948- Aleksievich

This year's Nobel Laureate in Literature, Svetlana Alexievich composed Voices from Chernobyl. I read the first edition in Russian many years ago and remained permanently impressed because the text greatly diverges from the literature I previously read about the Chernobyl disaster.

1998 Nobel Winner José Saramago's Literary Legacy

Blog image

Winner of the Nobel prize for literature in 1998, Portuguese novelist José Saramago died last month. He was 87. He left a long list of novels--and books in other genres, too--as his legacy in spite of the fact that he didn’t start writing novels until he was in his fifties.

Library Journal recommended Blindness as an “excellent choice for a book-discussion group.” Publishers Weekly said The Cave is a “remarkably generous and eloquent novel” and that “Saramago [had] an extraordinary ability to make a complex narrative read like a simple parable.”

Baltasar and Blimunda

Syndicate content