Reviews and Blog Posts: databases

Your 24/7 Reference Shelf: Gale Virtual Reference Library

Gale Virtual Reference Library Screenshot

When you're working on a research project, wouldn't it be great if you had a whole collection of reference books you could use any time of day or night? Well, if you have a library card and access to the Internet, you do! Gale Virtual Reference Library (GVRL) is an online reference collection that students can access from home, with over 3,500 electronic reference books—including encyclopedias, almanacs, biographies, guides to current events and controversies, and much more.

Students - Let Us Help You Succeed with Your Research Project!

Essay, Extended Essay, Argumentative Paper, Research Paper, National History Day Project, Book Report....The start of school means new assignments and we are here to help. If you are a student who would like some one-on-one assistance from a librarian to help with research for your project please check out our Student Research Appointments service. You can work online with a librarian or come to the Central Library in person.

Literature Expert? Test Yourself with this Quiz

Photo Credit: Brittany Stevens on Flickr

Love Literature? Put that knowledge to test with this quiz.

1. Which famous author/playwright in the 1800s made his name first known as a Professor of Aesthetics?

• Charles Dickens
• Oscar Wilde
• Washington Irving
• Walt Whitman

Check your answer in the Gale Virtual Reference Library.

12 Tips For Getting The Most Out of Your Library (For Kids)

Play Space at Central

What better time than National Library Week (April 12-18, 2015) to expand people’s appreciation of libraries. Here's a look at several, sometimes overlooked, services Denver Public Library offers.

Book Discovery: Novelist

Life After Life, by Kate Atkinson

Our website provides access to many types of databases, including NoveList (for adult fiction titles) and NoveList K-8 Plus (for fiction and nonfiction titles for children and young adults). These two databases help you to answer the question: what should I read next?

NoveList and NoveList K-8 Plus are available 24/7. To access them:

Readers' Guide Retrospective: An Old-Fashioned Research Tool Gets a Modern-Day Search Interface

Are you (ahem!) old enough to remember the green set of Readers’ Guide to Periodical Literature in your library? For decades, the Guide was the gold standard access point to US and Canadian magazines.

If you wanted to read all the article coverage of the lunar landing, for example, the Readers’ Guide would provide you with a list of citations across magazine titles, saving you the time of combing through each individual publication.

"Black Man" - Who is Stevie Singing About?

Stevie Wonder - Songs in the Key of Life

I was listening to Stevie Wonder's Songs in the Key of Life on our new record player recently and the track "Black Man" came on.  I have to admit that I didn't really know this one but it's great, just like the entire album is great.  

World Cup Drama - All those injuries!!

Neymar World Cup injury

Watching a lot of World Cup games has been and will continue to be a lot of fun and exciting... and entertaining.  I've heard a few groans about how there's way too much drama and bodies flopping all over the field.  It doesn't bother me too much and it certainly doesn't make me NOT want to watch as much as I can.  

Test your nzambi (zombie) knowledge - before it's too late!

Zombies

Colorado Public Radio recently posted an essay (along with the audio of an interview) called "Could Colorado be ground zero for a zombie apocalypse?" and there certainly is a lot of teen fiction about zombies.

But what should we know about zombies... before it's too late?  Test your knowledge now!  

Talk Like a Pirate Today...Speak Polish or Portuguese or Punjabi Tomorrow

Talk Like a Pirate Day

 

 

Library staff have been blogging in anticipation of International Talk Like a Pirate Day, which is celebrated every September 19th. Did you know the Library's language acquisition database, Mango Languages, features Pirate as one of the 60 language courses available to customers?

Syndicate content