Lincoln Hills

2023 Guides - Theme: Frontiers in History: People, Places, Ideas

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Camp Nizhoni
Lincoln Hills Camp
Lincoln Hills Colorado
Lincoln Hills Company

Genealogy, African American and Western History Resources

The Western History & Genealogy department focuses on Colorado and the West and features many primary source materials.  

The Blair Caldwell African American Research Library collections focus on African American history and culture in Colorado and the West, and also feature many primary source collections. 

Items from these two departments do not check out and are available to see at the Central Library when we are open. Western History and Blair-Caldwell staff are available to assist by phone and email and can provide scans of collection items for your project. To contact these two departments, email history@denverlibrary.org or askblaircaldwell@denverlibrary.org and include "National History Day" in your subject line. You may also call 720-865-1821.

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Black Historical Newspapers (ProQuest)

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Black Newspapers offers primary source material essential to the study of American history and Black culture, history, politics, and the arts.  Each of the Historical Black Newspapers provides access to perspectives and information that was excluded or marginalized in mainstream sources. Examine major movements from the Harlem Renaissance to Civil Rights, and explore everyday life as written in the Chicago DefenderThe Baltimore Afro-AmericanNew York Amsterdam NewsPittsburgh CourierLos Angeles SentinelAtlanta Daily WorldThe Norfolk Journal and GuideThe Philadelphia TribuneCleveland Call and Post, and Michigan Chronicle.

Available with library card

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project