Good Friday Agreement: The Provisional IRA Ends Armed Conflict With the UK

National History Day
2022 Guides - Theme: Debate & Diplomacy in History
Signatures on GF Agreement

Getting Started

Begin your research by brainstorming keywords - the words and phrases you’ll use to search for books, articles, websites, government documents, and other resources. These may include names of people and places or historical concepts like eras and movements. A librarian can suggest “subject headings” to find the most relevant resources.

Example Keywords & Catalog Subject Headings

Northern Ireland Peace Process
Good Friday Agreement/Belfast Agreement
Provisional IRA
Irish Republican Army
Northern Ireland
Northern Ireland - History
Northern Ireland -- Politics and government -- 1968-1998
Irish Republican Army -- History -- 20th century
Northern Ireland
Political violence -- Northern Ireland

Books/Print Resources at DPL

A Farther Shore : Ireland's Long Road to Peace (Primary Source)
Making Peace (Primary Source)
Northern Ireland: The Fragile Peace

Database/Online Resources

Library databases are online collections of information, organized for research. Databases contain articles, eBooks, images, maps, primary sources and more. If you don’t have a library card, register online for immediate access to these resources. The following recommended databases are available on our Research and Teen Social Studies pages.

Sample Articles
Peace Train Steams Ahead for N. Ireland
Irish Talks Produce an Accord to Stop Decades of Bloodshed with Sharing of Ulster Power
Getting Past the Violence: An interview with Jim Sheridan

Explora High School (Ebsco)

Look up topic overviews, magazine and academic journal articles, facts and primary sources for research papers, class projects or homework. Get information from trustworthy sources that you can cite in your papers. Designed with students and educators in mind.

Available with library card

Visit Explora High School (Ebsco)
Sample Articles
Northern Ireland Conflict Runs Deep, by Shawn Pogatchnik - AP Online, 05/16/1998
To Live for Ireland, by Pete Hamill
The Irish Question: A British Problem
The Hatred Within Will Always Win
Sample Articles
The Agreement: Will It Work?
The Conflict In Northern Ireland and the Clinton Administration's Role
The Return of Devolved Power-sharing to Northern Ireland: Why Did It take so long for the people and politicians of Northern Ireland to overcome their differences?
Sample Articles
After Violence, Possibilities Of Renewal: As Conflict Recedes in Northern Ireland, Economy Tries to Wean Itself From Britain As Violence Ebbs, Northern Ireland Renews Itself
Northern Ireland Picks Up the Reins of Its Government: Britain Ends Direct Rule
Ulster Without a Net: High-Wire Search for Peace in Northern Ireland Stumbles
Government In Belfast Is Paralyzed By Crisis: A Treaty Teeters In Northern Ireland

Prospector: Materials from Other Colorado and Wyoming Libraries

​​As a Denver Public Library customer, you can also borrow materials from other libraries in Colorado and Wyoming. Use Prospector to request materials that DPL does not own.

The Long Road to Peace in Northern Ireland : Peace Lectures From the Institute …
Northern Ireland Peace Process : Background and Challenges (online resource)
A History of Northern Ireland 1920-1996
Who Was Responsible for the Troubles? : The Northern Ireland Conflict
Making Sense of the Troubles : A History of the Northern Ireland Conflict

Internet Sources

Before using information you find on the internet for assignments and research, it is important to establish that the information comes from a reliable and appropriate source. The following websites, from government, academic and nonprofit organizations, have been evaluated for authority, accuracy, content and currency.

Conflict Archive on the Internet(CAIN): Conflict and Politics in Northern Irela…
A collection of information and source material on 'the Troubles' and politics in Northern Ireland from 1968 to the present. Located in Ulster University
The Agreement
Text of the Good Friday (Belfast) Agreement
Blair's speech to the Irish Parliament
British Prime Minister Tony Blair's address to the Dail Eireann (Irish Parliament) on November 26, 1998
An Irish Voice, by Niall O'Dowd (Primary Source)
How a typical Irish emigrant rose to a position of influence at the highest levels of US and Irish politics (includes accounts of the background of and the completion of the Good Friday Agreement)
The Belfast Agreement, by David Trimble (Primary Source)
Background and history of the Agreement from the perspective of a leading Unionist

Related Research Guides

Denver Public Library and Primary Resources
A Guide to Carrying Out Research on Northern Ireland and the Conflict
Northern Ireland - Clinton Digital Library

Contact the Reference Services department for help with your research project