New & Coming Soon Chapter Books

Looking for something new to read? Check out this list of new and coming soon books for 3rd - 5th graders. You can place a hold in the catalog by clicking on a title. 

More new and coming soon lists:

Looking for more new books? Try requesting a Personal Reading List and a librarian will send you a list of books tailored just for you! 

Alessandri, Alexandra

"To save their father's life, a brother and sister must journey across a land full of magical beings from Colombian folklore and find the most powerful and dangerous of them all--the Madremonte"--

Aureliani, Franco

"Filled with fearsome monsters, fascinating lore, and vibrant illustrations, Fae and the Moon is a much-needed adventure story about overcoming despair through the powers of love and hope."

Becotte, Jonathan

In this novel in verse for middle readers, a young teen struggles with revealing who he really is to those he loves.

Chen, Nicole

"Perfect for fans of Kelly Yang and Jessica Kim, this joyful, moving middle grade contemporary follows a big-hearted Taiwanese American girl as she aims to gain her family's acceptance and save her favorite boba tea shop by selling her handcrafted amigurumi dolls."

Giles, Chrystal D.

Nothing has gone right for twelve-year-old year old Lawrence since his Pop went away, but after getting expelled from school for fighting he discovers the world of chess and things begin to change.

Harrold, A. F.

From acclaimed author and illustrator pair A.F. Harrold and Levi Pinfold comes another powerful and poignant story about friendship, betrayal, and redemption.

Liu, Jennie, 1971- author.

Hoping to earn money for band camp tuition, twelve-year-old Enly Wu Lewis starts busking, but his mission quickly turns into a series of misadventures that change how he sees his family, his dreams, and himself.

McDunn, Gillian

In this heartfelt summer story, acclaimed author Gillian McDunn paints a stunning portrait of the bond of siblings and the love we'll always carry with us.

Morris, Chad, author.

"Five tweens navigate the pandemic by attending an experimental virtual reality school"-- Provided by publisher.

O'Shaughnessy, Kate

"What are the essential ingredients that make a family? Eleven-year-old Mo is making up her own recipe in this unforgettable story that's a little sweet, a little sour, and totally delicious."

Reynolds, K. A.

"The Last Kids on Earth meets Margaret Peterson Haddix in this middle grade adventure about fourteen-year-old Izzy, an autistic girl surviving the end of the world who must team up with her loveable dog to uncover the hidden truth behind her family and the rest of humanity's disappearance."

Rubin, Adam

"A collection of six stories, each one featuring an explosion of some sort"--

Shawl, Nisi

A wonderful middle-grade fantasy debut about Black families, family history, family curses ... and a really marvelous pair of spectacles.

Sugiura, Misa

All Momo wants for her twelfth birthay is an ordinary life, but instead she finds out she is half human, half goddess and must unlock her divine powers to save her mother's life and keep countless evil spirits from escaping Yomi, the land of the dead.

Thompson, Lin

"Simon, an eleven-year-old coming to terms with his gender identity, is convinced that his grandmother's house is haunted"--

Summaries provided by DPL's catalog unless otherwise noted. Click on each title to view more information.

Help us make improvements to our content! I am a(n):