Adult Fiction Coming Soon

Explore what we're most excited to put on our shelves this February. For more, check out:

Adult Bestsellers Coming Soon
Adult Nonfiction Coming Soon

Carr, Lakiesha

General

Heat. Fire. Rain so blue. The blackness. The color of our hue.

A magisterial, intimate look at Black womanhood: the grief that is carried within the body and the bonds of love that grant strength

Beagin, Jen

General

A brilliantly original and funny novel about a sex therapist’s transcriptionist who falls in love with a client while listening to her sessions. When they accidentally meet in real life, an explosive affair ensues.
 

Brown, Diane Marie

General

Practical Magic meets The Secret Lives of Church Ladies and The Mothers in this warm and wry family drama with a magical twist about four generations of Black women living under one roof and the family curse--any person they fall in love with dies--that stems back to a Voodoo shop in 1950s New Orleans’ French Quarter.

Tate, Dizz

General

The Virgin Suicides meets The Florida Project in this wildly original debut—a coming-of-age story about the crucible of girlhood, from a writer of rare and startling talent
 

Angel-Ajani, Asale

General

 

A gorgeous, scathing debut novel following the turbulent relationship of a Black, biracial teen and her ferocious Russian mother, struggling to survive in the California desert.

Variyar, Rajasree

General

The Daughters of Madurai is both a page-turning mystery and a heartrending story of the fraught family dynamics and desperate choices that face a young mother in India. Spanning 1990s South India and present-day Australia, the novel follows Janani, a mother who will do anything to save her unborn daughter, and Nila, a young woman who embarks on a life-changing journey of self-discovery.

Williams, Janelle M.

General

A lyrical debut novel that asks what we owe to our families, what we owe to our ancestors, and what we owe to ourselves. Janelle M. Williams's Gone Like Yesterday employs magical realism to explore the majestic and haunting experience of being a Black woman in today's America

Hosein, Kevin Jared

General

 

From an unforgettable new voice in Caribbean literature, a sweeping story of two families colliding in 1940s Trinidad—and a chilling mystery that shows how interconnected their lives truly are.

Florin, Daisy Alpert

General

An incisive, deeply resonant debut novel about a nonconsensual sexual encounter that propels one woman’s final semester at an elite New England college into controversy and chaos—and into an ill-advised affair with a married professor
 

Wilson, Jonathan

General

Based on actual events, a gripping novel of sex, love, and justice in the tinderbox of British Mandatory Palestine, by the acclaimed author of A Palestine Affair
 

Pardo, Paz

General

A beguiling blend of noir detective story and science fiction perfect for fans of Michael Chabon and Emily St. John Mandel, this unputdownable debut imagines a world where emotions have been weaponized, and a small-town law enforcement agent uncovers a conspiracy to take down what’s left of American democracy.
 

Gnodde, Kara

General

With the offbeat charm of The Rosie Project and generous warmth of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot, a wry, moving debut novel about a pair of unforgettable siblings and a love triangle of sorts—one with math as its beating heart.

Chukwu, J. K.

General

An edgy, bitingly funny debut about a queer, half-Nigerian college sophomore who, enraged and exhausted by the racism at her elite college, sets out to find truth about The Unfortunates--the unlucky subset of Black undergrads who have been mysteriously dying

Mallon, Thomas

General

Through the curious life of Dick Kallman—a real-life celebrity striver, poisonously charming actor, and eventual murder victim—the unforgiving worlds of postwar showbiz and down-low gay sexuality are thrown into stark relief.

Maroo, Chetna

General

A taut, enthralling first novel about grief, sisterhood, and a young athlete's struggle to transcend herself.
 

Nnuro, Dk

General

America is seen through the eyes and ambitions of three characters with ties to Africa in this gripping novel

Chokshi, Roshani

Fantasy

A sumptuous, gothic-infused story about a marriage that is unraveled by dark secrets, a friendship cursed to end in tragedy, and the danger of believing in fairy tales—the breathtaking adult debut from New York Times bestselling author Roshani Chokshi.

Wees, Alyssa

Fantasy

In this haunting, lyrical fantasy set in 1930s Chicago, a talented ballerina finds herself torn between her dreams and her desires when she's pursued by a secretive patron who may be more than he seems.
 

Jemc, Jac

Historical

A wildly over-the-top social satire reimagining the lives of royal cousins King Ludwig II and Empress Sisi, from the incomparable Jac Jemc.
 

Moustakis, Melinda

Historical

From National Book Foundation 5 Under 35 honoree and Flannery O'Connor Award winner Melinda Moustakis, a debut novel set in 1950s Alaska, about the turbulent marriage of two unlikely homesteaders
 

Calvi, Mary

Historical

A fact-based romantic speculative novel about Teddy Roosevelt’s first love, by the author of Dear George, Dear Mary.
 

Labuskes, Brianna

Historical

For fans of The Rose Code and The Paris Library, The Librarian of Burned Books is a captivating WWII-era novel about the intertwined fates of three women who believe in the power of books to triumph over the very darkest moments of war. 

Marshall, Heather

Historical

This “powerful debut” (Hello! Canada) for fans of Kristin Hannah and Jennifer Chiaverini about three women whose lives are bound together by a long-lost letter, a mother’s love, and a secret network of women fighting for the right to choose—inspired by true stories.
 

Chang, Janie

Historical

From the critically acclaimed author of The Library of Legends comes a vividly rendered novel set in WWI France about two young women—one Chinese, one French—whose lives intersect with unexpected, potentially dangerous consequences.

Verble, Margaret

Historical

A gripping, gut-punch of a novel about a Cherokee child removed from her family and sent to a Christian boarding school in the 1950s—an ambitious, eye-opening reckoning of history and small-town prejudices from Pulitzer Prize finalist Margaret Verble. 

McFarlane, Fiona

Historical

Fiona McFarlane's blazingly brilliant new novel, The Sun Walks Down, tells the many-voiced, many-sided story of a boy lost in colonial Australia.

Snyder, Lucy a.

Horror

A visceral story set in the aftermath of our planet’s disastrous transformation and told through the eyes of three women trying to survive the nightmare

To survive they must evolve.

Compton, Johnny

Horror

The Babadook meets A Headful of Ghosts in Texas Hill Country.
 

Enriquez, Mariana

Horror

A woman's mysterious death puts her husband and son on a collision course with her demonic family in the "monumental" (New York Times) debut novel from the International Booker Prize–shortlisted author of The Dangers of Smoking in Bed--"the most exciting discovery I’ve made in fiction for some time" (Kazuo Ishiguro)

Armstrong, Kelley

Mystery

New York Times bestselling author Armstrong’s Murder at Haven’s Rock is a spinoff from the Rockton Novels, a fresh start… with a few new dangers that threaten everything before it even begins.
 

Hastings, Anastasia

Mystery

The first in the new Dear Miss Hermione mystery series from Anastaia Hastings—when you represent the best-loved Agony Aunt in Britain, both maurading husbands and murder are par for the course.

Head, Cheryl A.

Mystery

A searing and tender novel about a young Black journalist’s search for answers in the unsolved murder of her great-grandfather in segregated Birmingham, Alabama decades ago – inspired by the author’s own family history.
 

Moorman, Jennifer

Romance

This enchanting and whimsical tale of friendship, love, and the power of baking dreams into life will open readers' eyes to the magic all around them.

Forest, Kristina

Romance

A shy bookworm enlists her charming neighbor to help her score a date, not knowing he’s the obscure author she’s been corresponding with, in this sparkling and heart-fluttering romance by Kristina Forest.
 

Divya, S. B.

Science Fiction

One woman and her pilot are about to change the future of the species in an epic space opera about aspiration, compassion, and redemption by Hugo and Nebula Award finalist S. B. Divya.

Chakrabarti, Jai

Short Stories

In the fourteen masterful stories that make up this collection, Jai Chakrabarti crosses continents and cultures to explore what it means to cultivate a family today, across borders, religions, and race.

Nardone, Mai

Short Stories

An immersive debut set across the temples, slums, and gated estates of late-twentieth century Bangkok, Welcome Me to the Kingdom tells the story of three families striving to control their own destinies in a merciless, sometimes brutally violent, metropolis.

Koller Croft, Rachel

Thriller

A perfectly wicked debut thriller about an ambitious woman who, after a lifetime of conning alongside her mother, wants to leave her dark past behind and marry the heir to one of the country's wealthiest families.

Cerra, K. L.

Thriller

A woman investigating her brother’s apparent suicide finds herself falling for her prime suspect—his darkly mysterious girlfriend.

Bartz, Julia

Thriller

The Plot meets Please Join Us in this psychological suspense debut about a young author at an exclusive writer’s retreat that descends into a nightmare.
 

Goldsworthy, Vesna

World Lit

East and West collide in a "timely" and "bittersweet tale of loyalty, love, and the siren call of freedom" (Rebecca Abrams, Financial Times).

Zambra, Alejandro

World Lit

The second novel by the internationally celebrated writer Alejandro Zambra, a “short and strikingly original” (The New Yorker) book about the stories we spin for ourselves and our loved ones—now reissued by Penguin

Adebayo, Ayobami

World Lit

A dazzling story of modern Nigeria and two families caught in the riptides of wealth, power, romantic obsession, and political corruption from the celebrated author of Stay with Me, "in the lineage of great works by Chinua Achebe and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie" (The New York Times).