Staff Favorites 2021: Beginning Readers

This list was created by Denver Public Library staff to celebrate our favorite recently published graphic novels. Enjoy!

Looking for more Staff Favorites?

Applegate, Katherine, author.

Doggo, an older dog, is used to things a certain way. When Pupper shows up, Doggo's routine changes. Pupper is very playful and soon the humans realize Pupper needs some training. But when Pupper comes back from puppy school, Doggo senses that, although Pupper is well-behaved, he isn't happy. So Doggo shows Pupper how to rediscover his fun side.

Arnold, Elana K., author.

"Introducing Starla Jean! She's full of moxie, clever as a fox, and obsessed with catching a chicken she finds at the park. When Starla first sees the scrawny bird wandering around, she just knows they're destined for one another. Her dad says, 'If you can catch it, you can keep it,' and Starla Jean is not one to back down from a challenge"--Macmillan.com.

Chang, Maggie P., author, illustrator.

With encouragement from her supportive lunchbox, a young girl ignores a classmate's teasing and heartily enjoys bao buns, stinky tofu, and other tasty lunches prepared by her Taiwanese grandmother.

Gehl, Laura, author.

"Cat wants to nap, and Goat wants to eat... what could go wrong?"-- Provided by publisher.

LaRochelle, David, author.

"Max the dog is sick today, but have no fear - Baby Cakes the cat is happy to take his place! But when the book tells her to dig a hole, fetch a stick, and guard the sheep, the cat responds in very un-doglike ways" -- Back cover.

Morris, J. E. (Jennifer E.), author, illustrator.

"When a flock of ducks arrives at an unsuspecting turtle's pond, the turtle is mistaken for a green duck and can't seem to convince anyone otherwise. Can the turtle find a way to take back the pond and get some peace and quiet once more?"-- Provided by publisher

Raúl the Third, 1976- author.

Readers will fall in love with Raúl the Third's unique visual style as Kooky Dooky helps luchador El Toro train for his next wrestling match! Perfect for readers of Elephant and Piggie, comic book fans, and kids looking to practice both Spanish and English.

Thornhill, Samantha, author.

"Lily and her friends organize a protest in order to save their neighborhood public garden from being demolished"-- Provided by publisher.

Tsurumi, Andrea, author, illustrator.

"When Frog and Goat turn a simple game into an all-out competition, things get out of hand...until finally, they're over it"-- Provided by publisher.

Summaries provided by DPL's catalog unless otherwise noted. Click on each title to view more information.

Help us make improvements to our content! I am a(n):