Mario Vargas Llosa wins Nobel Prize for Literature

This week the Swedish Academy awarded the 2010 Nobel Prize for Literature to Peruvian writer Mario Vargas Llosa.
The War of the End of the World has been my favorite Vargas Llosa book so far, a fictionalized account of a community of marginalized people who followed a fanatical leader to desolate, impoverished northeastern Brazil at the end of the 19th century. I decided to read Vargas Llosas' book after reading the book on the same topic by Brazilian writer Euclides da Cunha, Rebellion in the Backlands (Os sertões) that Vargas Llosa credits with interesting him in the story in the first place. The committee noted that although his works are all very different from one another, they all—whether novels, non-fiction, essay or poetry--"are interested in the interrelationship between politics and the individual and explore the private histories of nations." (Georgia Brown for That assessment definitely describes The War of the End of the World.
Conversation in the Cathedral
La ciudad y los perros (Only in Spanish in our collection)
The Feast of the Goat
La casa verde (Only in Spanish in our collection)

Our collection of Vargas Llosa books and writings in English translated from the Spanish

Vargas Llosa becomes the 6th Latin American author to win the Nobel Prize for Literature in addition to Gabriela Mistral, Miguel Ángel Asturias, Octavio Paz, Pablo Neruda and Gabriel García Márquez.

Contamos con muchas de las obras de Vargas Llosa en español si prefiere leerlas en el idioma original.

Written by Stefanie on October 7, 2010

Leave a comment