2010 National Book Award Finalists Announced

The National Book Awards celebrate the best of American Literature published in the last year. The 2010 National Book Award Finalists were announced on October 13 by Pat Conroy at the Flannery O'Connor Childhood Home. The winners in each category will be announced on Wednesday, November 17.

Last winners were Let the Great World Spin by Colum McCann (Fiction), The First Tycoon: The Epic Life of Cornelius Vanderbilt by T.J. Stiles (NonFiction), Transcendental Studies: A Trilogy by Keith Waldrop (Poetry), and Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice by Phillip Hoose (Young People's Literature).




  • The Eternal City by Kathleen Graber^
  • Lighthead by Terrance Hayes
  • By the Numbers by James Richardson*
  • One with Others by C.D. Wright*
  • Ignatz by Monica Youn**

Young People's Literature

* = Not Yet Released

^ = Available through ILL

** = Available through Prospector

Written by Tara on October 13, 2010

Leave a comment