EEEEEK! Bram Stoker Awards Announced

The Hugos' rocket trophy is pretty cool and the Agathas' teacup is cozy, but the Bram Stokers' gargoyled, rat-infested haunted house award is the creepiest!

The Stokers have been awarded by the Horror Writers Association since 1987 and the latest winners were announced at their convention in Portland last month. The winners are:

Superior Achievement in a Novel

Doctor Sleep by Stephen King

Also available in Large Print and Audio

Super Achievement in a First Novel

The Evolutionist by Rena Mason

Super Achievement in a YA Novel

Dog Days: Deadly Passage by Joe McKinney

Superior Achievement in a Graphic Novel

Alabaster Wolves by Caitlin R. Kiernan

Superior Achievement in Short Fiction

"Night Train to Paris" (published in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction Jan/Feb 2013) by David Gerrold

Superior Achievement in a Screenplay

"Welcome to the Tombs"  by Glen Mazzara

The season finale of the third season of The Walking Dead

Superior Achievement in a Fiction Collection

The Beautiful Thing That Awaits Us All by Laird Barron

Full list of winners

Read more about Bram Stoker and his most famous work in the Gale Virtual Reference Library:

"Bram Stoker" in Gothic Literature: A Gale Critical Companion

"Bram Stoker" in Encyclopedia of World Biography

Dracula: Between Tradition and Modernism by Carol Senf

Written by Tammi on June 16, 2014


Anonymous on June 16, 2014


How do I get access to Gale Virtual Reference?

Tammi on June 17, 2014


To view the linked articles in Gale Virtual Reference Library, just log in with your Denver Public Library card!

To search hundreds of other online reference books in GVRL, go here to start:

If you don't have a Denver Public Library card, you can register for a temporary card online here:

It's good for 28 days and allows you to use most of our online databases and place holds. To get a permanent library card with full access including ebooks, come in to any library and show picture ID and proof of address.

Leave a comment