Managing Overdrive and Libby Holds with Deliver Later

Do you know that sinking feeling when you miscalculated or forgot to Suspend Hold and now all your eBooks or audio eBook holds are coming in at the same time? Overdrive launched a new feature today, March 3, 2020, called "Deliver Later" to help with that. This feature will work in the Libby app, the Overdrive app and our Overdrive web site.

When your hold is ready, you will receive a notification or an email message that your hold is ready to borrow. You will have 3 options:

  •     Borrow it now
  •     Suspend it for later
  •     Cancel it

If you don't act on the hold within 3 days (72 hours of the time the notice was sent), the hold will automatically be suspended for 7 days. After 7 days, you'll get a new notification and you'll have the 3 options again. If you don't act the second time, the hold will be canceled.

Suspend it for later or automatic 7 day suspension means you will keep your place in the holds list until your hold is reactivated. You can manually reactivate the hold anytime, otherwise it will automatically reactivate at the end of the suspension period. If there are other suspended holds on that title, you might not be #1 on the list but the odds are that not all of those suspended holds will reactivate at the same time.

The benefits of this plan:

  • If you're not ready to borrow your hold, you can suspend it for as long as you choose. You won't have to juggle more titles than you're ready for at any given time, which means you're more likely to have the time to finish the books you're really interested in.
         
  • The books you aren't ready for won't sit unused on your virtual bookshelf when there are other customers who are ready for them now. This has the potential to streamline hold lists to get the right book to its reader at the right time.
         
  • The 7 day automatic hold suspension is your courtesy second chance to borrow the book later. If you're swamped, or out of town, or simply miss the notification, you won't lose the hold after the first 3 days (72 hours.)

Automatic hold checkout is no longer available. You will have to borrow each hold within 3 days, but there will be the 7 day grace period followed by a new notification, so you will have a second chance.

Written by Janet on March 2, 2020