2013 Latino Community Service Award Winners

Información en español sobre los Premios Latinos

Congratulations to Carlota EspinoZa, Lena L. Archuleta Community Service Award winner, and Lt. Gov. Joe Garcia and Councilwoman Judy H. Montero, recipients of the César Chávez Latino Leadership Hall of Fame Award.

The Awards Celebration will be held Saturday, September 14, 10 a.m. at the Woodbury Branch Library. A reception will follow the ceremony. Free and open to the public — No RSVP required. The event will kick off National Hispanic Heritage Month, September 15 - October 15, 2013.

The Lena L. Archuleta Community Service Award

2013 Awardee Carlota EspinoZaThe recipient is a Colorado resident of Latino descent who has taken an active role in the community, above and beyond paid employment. The recipient has made an impact on the cultural life of the community through his or her involvement with the Denver Public Library or another civic organization.

Past winners include: Lena L. Archuleta, Olibama Lopez Tushar, Beverly Martinez, Carlos Fresquez, Anthony J. Garcia, Magdalena Aguayo, Rosa Linda Aguirre, Clara Ricciardi, Florence "Flo" Hernández-Ramos, Rita Flores de Wallace and Lucia S. Aandahl.

The César Chávez Latino Leadership Hall of Fame Award

2013 Awardee Lt. Gov. Joe GarciaThis Award celebrates the induction of two individuals (one male and one female) into the César Chávez Leadership Hall of Fame. The recipients are Coloradans of Latino descent who have made a major contribution in a particular field that has positively impacted Denver’s Latino community.

2013 Awardee  Councilwoman Judy H. MonteroPast inductees include: Ruben Valdez, Lena L. Archuleta, Manuel “Sam” Sandos, Polly Baca, Rodolfo “Corky” Gonzales, Mary Baca, The Honorable Roger Cisneros, Rosemary Rodriguez, Senator Ken Salazar, Reverend Lucia Gúzman, Secretary Federico Peña, Flora Rodriquez Russel, Patricia Barela Rivera, Salvadore (Sal) Carpio Jr., Katherine Archuleta, Jim Garcia, Denise Maes, Bernard “Bernie” Valdez, Dr Patricia Baca, Carlos Castañeda, Theresa K. Peña and Guillermo “Bill” Vidal.